I call him from time to time. I started calling him when my dad was dying about 4 years ago….. His dad and mine were brothers and his dad died many years ago. Pete had a vision when my dad was on his way out. the brothers were together once again and finally happy…. I have always been in love with Peter – we were born one day apart. He was smart and beautiful. Bud, his father moved early on to the northeast and became a fairly famous newspaper editor. His family was the Kennedys and mine was the backwoods buck-toothed asshole southern losers. We used to get the families together at the beach every summer but that tradition ended when we were about 10 years old. The families lost touch. Pete became an enlightened traveler/writer and I became a total asswipe. I have not seen him in over 35 years. Still I call him from time to time and would love to see him in person again. At the same time I know he is so much more together than I am. and still I am not afraid to pull my proverbial pants down in front of him and show my vulnerability….. but that’s the way I am. With everyone………………

UPDATE: I stand corrected. My family did not live in the backwoods.  We lived in an upper middle class enclave of buck toothed losers.  I tend to exaggerate.

