Banned Books Week is coming up and I plan to make a display featuring a stunning picture of Mrs. Palin front and center. Maybe a mock-up of one of the ALA “READ” posters, with Palin holding a copy of something super racy, say The Catcher in the Rye or something, with “DON’T READ” as the poster header….. I don’t care what my manager says. OK, maybe I do. But I’m gonna try it. This story from Time magazine is interesting. This paragraph in particular:

Stein says that as mayor, Palin continued to inject religious beliefs into her policy at times. “She asked the library how she could go about banning books,” he says, because some voters thought they had inappropriate language in them. “The librarian was aghast.” That woman, Mary Ellen Baker, couldn’t be reached for comment, but news reports from the time show that Palin had threatened to fire Baker for not giving “full support” to the mayor.

Apparently the library director in question resigned in 1999. I’d be interested in knowing what information Mayor Palin was given on the process for challenging a book. OK. That’s all you’ll hear from me about this media darling. I just thank John McCain for being the dumbass that he is. The GOP is further derailing itself with this one. And while I am sad and worried for the Gulf Coast enduring another hurricane season, I thank Gustav for interrupting their big clusterfuck up in Minnesota too.

UPDATE: As if anyone actually reads this crap. The SPEECH caused me much stress.
the SPEECH made me argue with people I usually agree with. the SPEECH made me want to get a gun and go crazy on that beauty queen’s ass. But of course, we will go on. And endure. And take more medication. And move to Mexico. They won’t win, but the winner won’t be a winner and we will all lose. But that is defeatist. And that makes me bad. So I will go away and never say another word. NOT.

UPDATE: An interesting website here: http://librariansagainstpalin.wordpress.com/about/

And here’s our favorite wingnut Michelle Malkin’s take on it all.  Hysterical Librarians…. love it….

