elyse-and-teenie-weenie

Seems to me that if I’m not lamenting something or ranting about something in life, my posts are not that catchy or interesting. Does happiness put a dent in creativity? Not for that godawful guy who paints those schmeeezy paintings…. lovely ponds with stone bridges over them and  a snug little house in the distance behind all the flowering trees and butterflies….what the hell is his name? Something or other Kincaid.

Anyway…. I think it’s an adjustment. That’s all. Why worry about it anyway? I am not compelled. It’s not a calling. It’s merely some form of  expression, perhaps therapeutic  at times, but if the blog sucks, it sucks.  Sporadic. Frequent. Rarely. It doesn’t matter.

Now. Let’s talk about those puppy mills. The picture above is of my daughter cradling the tiniest little Pomeranian I’ve ever seen (about 4 lbs at approx. age 2). This poor little dog was taken in by my friend Barbara for fostering although I believe she has bonded now to the point that Barb will just keep her. This dog was most likely a “breeder”, meaning she was never let out of her small cage and, consequently, has severly bowed back legs. Barb said that when they first got her, she didn’t seem to understand the concept of walking. She could stand but didn’t really know how to walk. She has bounced back amazingly well and now runs around the house barking and interacting with Barb’s other two dogs.

Here’s a LINK to what the Humane Society of the US has on its page about Washington’s regulations on puppy mills.

State Sen. Jeanne Kohl-Welles, D-Seattle, and Rep. Sherry Appleton, D-Poulsbo, have introduced legislation to limit the number of breeding dogs a person can possess as well as establish some basic care standards for dogs. These would include providing clean food and water and allowing dogs to leave their cages for at least an hour of exercise each day. Since this is a nationwide problem, and considering that Washington state is one of the more liberal, I am guessing that other states don’t have much in the way of laws agains puppy mills either. I am researching.

Since I originally wrote this post, Barb has indeed adopted the little dog. Also, I have discovered that the Amish are among the most prolific puppy mill breeders. The Amish? Go figure.

